Certified Scrum Master

Certified ScrumMaster

Certified Scrum Master

CSM Certification: Everything You Need to Know

The Certified ScrumMaster (CSM) designation establishes a benchmark for defining Scrum theory, implementing practical applications and principles, and managing teams and stakeholders through the development process.

CSM certification

Many sectors are increasingly adopting agile approaches in project and product management, and the Scrum master is a key leadership role in agile development. The Scrum Alliance’s Certified ScrumMaster (CSM) certification is an entry-level credential targeted at giving professionals with an understanding of Scrum’s methodology and principles, such as team performance, accountability, and iterative development. This certification is valuable for Scrum masters and their teams, as well as other product delivery experts that use the Scrum framework or are responsible for Scrum optimization.

CSMs get more recognition and credibility as leaders, as well as more opportunities inside companies that employ agile concepts and have shown knowledge of Scrum.

CSM requirements

There are no prerequisites for enrolling in CSM training, although certification does need it. Applicants for the CSM certificate must be familiar with the Scrum framework, as well as its principles and practices. Scrum Alliance resources include the Scrum Alliance expert blog, member articles, videos, presentations, and reports on Scrum foundations.

A two-day (16-hour) CSM training conducted by a Certified Scrum Trainer is required of all applicants. The course covers all you need to know about organizing and supporting a Scrum team. Scope, Lean, Agile, Scrum, agile facilitation, coaching, and service to the development team, product owner, and organization are all covered in the CSM course.

The CSM test must then be passed through the Scrum Alliance portal. If you haven’t taken the course in more than 90 days, you’ll have to pay $25 to retake it. The test cannot be taken unless the two-day course is completed.

You must accept the licensing agreement after passing the CSM exam. Following that, you must complete your Scrum Alliance membership profile.

CSM cost

The Certified Scrum Trainers pay the first certification cost for each student who successfully completes a Certified ScrumMaster course. If you do not pass the exam the first time, you will be charged $25 for each additional try.

The following items are included in the training course fees:

  • Certification for the first two years
  • You will have two chances to take the exam (within 90 calendar days of attending the course)
  • Each instructor provides course materials in class (must be Scrum Alliance approved)
  • The in-person two-day course
  • Scrum Alliance community membership for two years

CSM exam

In 60 minutes, the CSM test comprises of 50 multiple-choice and true/false questions. For a passing mark of 74 percent, you must properly answer 37 questions. The test includes general Scrum knowledge, Scrum roles, Scrum meetings, and Scrum artefacts, among other topics. Within the 90-day period following completion of the mandatory two-day course, applicants can only take the test twice.

CSM value

Obtaining CSM certification offers several benefits, both for your organization and for you personally. Improving team management, communication, and performance to guarantee project work moves along smoothly and effectively are just a few of the advantages. It Scrum is also applied responsibly and consistently, and everyone is on the same page when it comes to understanding the framework. CSM certification can also help you advance your career by opening doors to new possibilities.

After completing all of the steps and becoming a CSM, you will be granted a two-year membership in the Scrum Alliance, which will allow you to join local user groups and online social networks, as well as get discounts on events and other advantages.

CSM renewal

Every two years, your CSM must be renewed. To do so, you’ll need a total of 20 Scrum Education Units (SEUs) and a $100 renewal charge.

Keeping up with the times necessitates the use of SEUs. One SEU is awarded for every hour spent on continuing education. There are five types of SEUs:

  • Scrum Alliance Scrum gatherings
  • Scrum Alliance courses or coaching
  • Outside events, volunteer service
  • Independent learning

Reading papers, volunteering, attending events, and taking classes are all examples of eligible activities. Watching a community webinar, volunteering in the agile community, joining a local user group, attending a global/regional Scrum conference, writing about Scrum/agile in a blog post, or reading a book about Scrum/agile are all examples of SEU alternatives. Taking the CSM also awards PMI-certified professionals PDUs (Professional Development Units) (PDUs).

CSM training

Before taking the CSM test, applicants must take a two-day (16-hour) CSM course given by a Certified Scrum Trainer (CST). The Scrum Alliance has authorized CSTs as the only trainers who can prepare you for the test, and CST courses are featured on the Scrum Alliance course search website. There are live online choices as well as in-person training with CSTs all around the world. At this time, self-paced online training is not available.

Scrum principles, the Scrum framework, definitions, how to execute a Scrum project, how to interact with teams, how Scrum fits into your business, and the many Scrum roles should all be covered during CSM training. You should be able to grasp the following by the conclusion of your training:

  • Foundations of Scrum and rules
  • How to act as a Scrum master for Scrum teams and stakeholders
  • Servant-leadership
  • How to effectively use Scrum
  • How can you make Scrum more productive in your organization?

After you’ve completed your training, you may anticipate your instructor to help you in creating an account so that you can visit a CSM exam practice site.

Sample CSM exam questions
There are various online practice tests available to help you prepare for the CSM exam, including questions that may appear on your exam:

  • In a Scrum project, whose major job is it to track project impediments?
  • In the Scrum framework, which of the following concepts is not defined?
  • In the Scrum framework, which of the following primary events is defined?
  • Who is in charge of prioritizing the backlog of products?
  • How do you distinguish between a product backlog and a sprint backlog?

Leave your thought here

Select the fields to be shown. Others will be hidden. Drag and drop to rearrange the order.
  • Image
  • SKU
  • Rating
  • Price
  • Stock
  • Availability
  • Add to cart
  • Description
  • Content
  • Weight
  • Dimensions
  • Additional information
Click outside to hide the comparison bar